Outlook: Trying to Connect

This is how I solved a problem of Microsoft Outlook 2010 “Trying to Connect” for several days.

  1. I verified I could connect to the Exchange Server from another machine using Outlook Web App.
  2. I verified network connectivity to the Microsoft Exchange server.
  3. I killed the OUTLOOK.EXE process and restarted Outlook.
  4. I stopped the Windows Search service and restarted Outlook. (So far, nothing helped.)
  5. I killed Microsoft Communicator 2007 R2 and restarted Outlook.
  6. </ol

    The last step, killing Communicator, helped and then Outlook connected and updated all folders.

    The reason I tried to stop Communicator is using Process Explorer I found Communicator was locking files in C:\Users\username\appdata\local\microsoft\outlook, which I was trying to rename in case there was a corrupt file there.

    Rebooting should have resolved the issue, but I couldn’t reboot because I needed another application to keep running. Searching on Google shows other people had other causes for the same “Trying to Connect” problem.

    System: Microsoft Windows 7, Microsoft Office 2010.

One thought on “Outlook: Trying to Connect

Leave a Reply

